Skip to content

A Cowl & Bad Photography

July 14, 2010

Confession: Ok, So… I’m not that great of a photographer.  Maybe 1:100 will be a good shot.  I wish that I could take pictures like Jeanne of the LIFE IN CLEVELAND fame but alas… it just ain’t hap’nin’…

{Side Note:  What I love about blogging is saying things that I would NEVER actually say while speaking or writing anything other than a blog, like “ain’t”.  I really dislike that word as a general rule but it just felt right here…}

… and I just don’t have the patience to keep taking them until I get a good pic so, you’ll just have to grit your teeth and bear my bad pictures.

So, on to the poor photography.  Today is my friend Dana B.’s birthday (#29, of course) and for her birthday I knitted her a cowl.  Yes…It is July 14th and we are in the middle of a classic midwestern heat wave with humidity levels skyrocketing, leaving a sheen of moisture on your skin in the short jaunt from car to building, but I really like to give gifts BEFORE they become useful that way when the day comes that the temperatures drop to freezing and she wants to button her coat w/o a bulky scarf getting in the way, she’ll be set…

And so, here it is, in all its photographic non-glory.  

 

Why can’t all my pictures look like this?

The ageless beauty herself, Dana B.  Who, BTW is an incredible photographer.  You should check out her website HERE.

So, I made up the cowl pattern while on vacation last week.  I’ll post the pattern here for anyone that’s interested.  It’s amazingly simple so I’m sure I’m not the first to come up with it so I claim no responsibility for any similarities in other patterns.  {like that disclaimer, there? heh}

Here’s my test cowl 

I absolutely love this yarn.  I’ve had it for like 5 years and couldn’t decide what to do with it.  I came across it as I was perusing my stash and decided it was perfect to test out my pattern and I’m quite pleased with it.  I haven’t decided what kind of buttons to use.  I’m considering using some antler buttons that my DH made.  We’ll see…

Ta Da

Final confession for the day:  I overuse the word “So” and the punctuation “…”.  Oh, you noticed?  Well…like I always say:  It’s better to be self-aware than delusional.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    July 15, 2010 5:17 am

    That is very cool. I had not heard of cowl’s before. My sister was telling me about her B-Day present and your website. She says she’s famous so I had to check it for myself, lol. So, just wanted to drop by and say very nice work. : )

  2. VintageDM permalink*
    July 15, 2010 1:28 pm

    Thanks for dropping in Samantha! I feel like I know you b/c Dana talks about you quite often! (We need to up our game of getting her on facebook…)

Trackbacks

  1. Red’s Cowl Pattern « The Knit Life

Leave a Reply

