Skip to content

Spinning Wheel

July 15, 2010

So, the DH picked up this little treasure at an antique store.  All it was missing is the whorl… <SNORT>  I said “ALL it was missing”…  Well, the problem with that is that this is a very old, handmade wheel.  What makes this harder is that there’s only one bobbin and the flyer is quite unique….

But, luck is on our side as my new treasure closely resembles the Ashford Elizabeth and with one trip to the Yarn Barn we were armed with a new flyer, whorl and bobbins that go to the Elizabeth and just so happen to fit my wheel perfectly. 

The next challenge, is replacing the leathers with wood pieces since the leathers aren’t strong enough to hold up the weight of the flyer, et.al.

These are new leathers that my husband made using the measurements of the old leathers.  The old ones were far too brittle and old to be of any use.  These however, aren’t quite strong enough to hold up the new flyer.

The original flyer.

Yeah, it needs a good scrub down…

*-*-*-*-*-*

And on a completely unrelated topic:  I am a clumsy person.  It’s so ridiculous how clumsy I am that it’s not even worth pretending that I have an ounce of grace.  That said… Somehow this morning I was able to accidentally turn on the camera and take a picture of my banana peel in one swift movement and all I was trying to do was put the darn thing in the bag. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 7:56 pm

    Don’t you just LOVE Yarn Barn? Whenever you are planning to go, let me know and I could meet you there too. Ha!

    • VintageDM permalink*
      August 2, 2010 8:32 pm

      I look forward to it Chelle! And yes… I L-O-V-E the Yarn Barn!

Trackbacks

  1. Wheels & Other Stuff « The Knit Life

Leave a Reply

