Skip to content

Preconceived Notions and the Knitocracy

September 7, 2010

confession:  I am not a social person.  There.  I said it.  I don’t approach people.  I don’t seek out friendships.  I don’t know how to make small talk with people I don’t know well and simply find it wasteful of my time.  Give me a meaningful conversation with someone I kinda-sorta know and I’m good, just don’t bore me with small talk.  {The truth is, I really don’t care that your first pet was a gerbil named Hairy Harry….}  I’m awkward and uncertain when I talk to new people and I would rather have my nose in lace than actually reach out to someone. 

I’m also a  hypocrite.  It’s true.  I’m all of those things and more and then I shockingly find myself scornfully looking down my nose at others that aren’t open and outgoing.  I even started this blog out with such an accusation only to see {thankfully before I hit the big blue publish button} how much of a turd bucket I sounded like.  Yeah, I said turd bucket.

The original confession started out like this:  I used to think that knitters were all snobby knitocrats.  That’s right.  I said knitocrats {think aristocrat}.  Now that I am a knitter… I still think there’s a knitocracy.  (CENSORED FOR MY OWN HYPOCRITICAL STUPIDITY)  And that’s where I’ll stop us in the original confession for my sake and the sake of your blood pressure.

Do I think an aristocratic hierarchy exists among knitters?  Yes.  What I also think is that knitting is like poetry.  There is so much of ourselves invested in the work that we do that makes it such an intimate and personal thing that we become guarded because of our preconceived notions that send an onslaught of arrows over the castle wall.

So my point is this:  If you’re like me, you’ll know that it isn’t that we don’t want to belong, it’s that we don’t know how to belong.  But, if you see a knitter that’s seems closed off and [GASP] snobby, put your shield up to block those pesky preconceived notions and ask them about their project, {after all, everyone wants to talk about their knitting} and you may just find that the knitocracy isn’t exclusive to noble blood and there’s a place for you among the ranks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

