Skip to content

Finished, Ignored and a Confession

September 13, 2010

I haven’t had much to post in the way of projects because they’ve either been posted about to the nth degree or they were QTs.  But, I’m happy to report that the West Beach Shrug is finished and looks great on Denise!  There will be more pictures later this week when she wears it.

Wimple

My mom was baptized on Sunday and instead of a traditional gift, I knitted her the LACE AND COLORWORK WIMPLE designed by Annie Modesitt.  {My own version…of course.} I still have to get some pictures of the FO.

 

Inishturk

I drug this little gem out from its hiding spot and snapped a few pictures.  You may have seen this before in some of my earliest posts but this is a better picture.  Its my variation of the INISHTURK SWEATER from Lion Brand Yarn.  I started this a month or so after I learned to knit and shortly after that, I gave up knitting for Lent {Yeah… I won’t do that again} and I haven’t touched it since.

I suspect that this will be my fall back for mindless autumn knitting because I’m in the mood for sweaters for myself and think how nice it will be to wear it so I’ll knit furiously and then stop…  I’m also considering skipping the cables on the back and simply doing it in straight seed stitch.  {I think I need a Seed Stitch Anonymous meeting… I do so love seed stitch though….}  I’d say that’s just pure laziness if it weren’t for my love of seed stitch…

A less nauseating option is to carry the SS out on the sides of the back for the same count as it is on the front and then do a simple stockinette.  I love the cables on the front, and I don’t have a problem with knitting more but I just feel like it would be too much for me.  I’d feel like a walking cable…

Simple is better in my book.

confession: I love finishing.  No, really.  I L-O-V-E finishing!  There’s something so gratifying about watching your sweater seams slide into place almost invisibly with the mattress stitch.  I’ve yet to meet a knitter that doesn’t abhor this process or at the very least complain about it and so I’m thinking that perhaps there’s something wrong with me.  Don’t respond to that.

And if anyone can tell me how to make my text stop migrating between pictures, I’d be a million times grateful.  This is really starting to piss me off…

 

UPDATE:  How could I forget this?  I even tagged it with Waverly Shrug intending to talk about this!  I received the yarn for the second knitting of the Waverly Shrug on Friday!  I’m re-knitting it with WOOL OF THE ANDES BULKY YARN in Wine.  As I walked into the house after work on Friday with my box of yarn the hubster said he might as well be saying goodbye.  HA.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

