Skip to content

Shakespearean Bull Knit

December 3, 2010

‘Tis the season to be jolly!  And I am!  I am in overkill Christmas spirit this year.  I’m moments away from belting out I Want a hippopotamus for Christmas at the top of my lungs.  My fear of humiliation stops me though. 

The hubster whipped up some excellent homemade hot chocolate the other night and we watched Rudolf the Red Nosed Reindeer.  It doesn’t get more Christmasy than that!

Unfortunately for knit blogging, ’tis not the season.  There really isn’t much that I’m working on that I can share.  I will say however, that I stupidly, stupidly, stupidly, did not swatch when I started making the Little Sister Dress by Tora Froseth and well, I didn’t account for the difference between the worsted weight suggested and the bulky I used.  One word:  HUGE! 

Instead of a cute little white dress to put over a pretty little red turtleneck for a Santa picture… for my two year old… It will likely fit my seven year old niece.  Yeah.  It’s that much bigger.  I’m considering continuing on and just making it a sweater instead of a dress for said niece, but I don’t think I have enough to also make the santa dress for the munchkin. 

To frog, or not to frog, that is the question.

In other Bull Knit news, Autumn seems to be my time to learn.  Last autumn I learned to knit.  This year I learned socks, Icord (Thanks, V!), hats and I learned that DPNs are a helluva long way away from being as scary as a Raggedy Ann doll.  Super easy.

Speaking of V, we had our dual birthday celebration a couple weeks ago.  It was a day full of fiber, needles, and birthday fun!  She made me the Very Braidy Cowl, (above) and we set off to the Creative Hand Fiber Show and practically water skied out on our drool.  Needless to say, we’re armed with more ideas than we’ll ever knit and I came out with a new obsession for cloches.

My new obsession inspired me to bite the bullet and try a hat for the first time.  So I went with Diamonds in the Rough by Laura Olsavsky (Rav Link) because the majority of the hat is knit in a cabled panel and there’s not as much DPN usage.  I’m pretty happy with it.  I did change the cable up a bit though.

I also let my husband cut my hair.  Best damn haircut I’ve ever had.

____________________________________________________________

If you’re looking for a last minute Christmas present to knit up quickly, the Waverly Shrug now has yarn costs as low as $5.18!  Find it at Knit Picks and don’t forget to find The Knit Life on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

