Skip to content

Sioux & A Cardi

February 17, 2011

I have long loved Fair Isle items but until last weekend, I had yet to try the technique.  I’m enamored with Kate Davies’ designs (needled) and have entertained delusions of successfully knitting Caller Herrin’ and most recently Christie Johnstone.

Knowing that I’m delusional, I decided to try my hand at a simple project and when nothing struck my fancy, I gave up.  That is until last weekend, when I came across one of our many Native American books and a new knit-child was born. 

I am now working on a series of stranded hats with motifs adapted from traditional Native American beadwork!  So far so good but I have to wonder who in the heck would try designing in a technique they’ve yet to even TRY?  Me, evidently.  Crazy, I know.

Introducing:  Sioux

This is adapted from mid 1800’s Western Sioux beadwork.

Keep watch on Facebook or Twitter because I’m going to need some test knitters soon!  I’m hoping to have it up in the Free Test Knitters group on Ravelry by the end of next week!

On to the cardi…

I test knit Brenda Castiel’s (goodstuff) Garden Party Cardi (Pattern forthcoming!  Watch HERE!) and I can’t say enough how cute this pattern is!  It’s versatile and the look of the sweater can really change depending on your color choices.  I highly recommend this pattern!  You can see my notes on my project page

I attempted a different neck band than what the pattern called for and I really regret that decision.  If I’d have followed the instructions, I think the garment would have much better structure and drape around the neckline.

I’ve also been spinning!  (HUZZAH! – I’ve always wanted to say “huzzah”… Don’t know why…)  I took pictures of my yarn but my flash drive bit the dust and stole my pictures when it died.  BOO!

This weekend is going to be a fantabulous knitting weekend as Vanessa B is staying the weekend with me!!!  HUZZAH!  (Sorry, I just couldn’t help myself.)

Lots of pictures to come, I’ve no doubt.

Over & Out

★D

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 2:45 am

    http://carlh193.blogspot.com Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved MUCH time 🙂

Leave a Reply

