Skip to content

Faroese Sweater

May 9, 2011

I found the Long Faroese Sweater pattern late last week and much to my delight, it was a free pattern!  (Click the image for the Ravelry Page.) 

Photo is property of Hanne Magnussen and/or Faroe Knitting.

All I can say is, THANK YOU – THANK YOU – THANK YOU, Hanne Magnussen!  And if you too, have become Faroese Sweater fan #1, then you’ll love Hanne’s website and Facebook page!  There’s patterns, tutorials and yarn galore!  (I haven’t been this excited about another knitter (et. al.) since I stumbled upon Kate Davies – Needled

I must admit that I’m a geographical idiot and never knew the Faroe Islands EXISTED.  I must add Faroe Islands to my list of places to travel, right next to Ireland, Scotland and Liechtenstein.  No.  Seriously.  Liechtenstein.  I want to go…

Anyhoo – I saw this pattern and instantly saw the potential of my upcyled yarn from an old La Redoute and and Old Navy sweater…

…and I cast on at my first opportunity.  My first realization… Faroseians are little people.  The size small is itty bitty in the American realm!  But, it’s a simple pattern and so creating a custom size was just a matter of elementary math.  You can find all my notes on my Rav Project Page.  I have some tips that I’ve learned as I’ve gotten started there as well.

I know that I’m losing the pretty fuzziness by using cotton but I’m excited to see the striking contrast of the dark and light colors.

It’s a simple and elegant pattern and with it being free, who could say no?  (Ok… rhetorical question, folks.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

