Skip to content

As The Wheel Spins

June 7, 2011

Sounds like a soap opera, doesn’t it?  I like it.  Someone should have a fiber shop named As The Wheel Spins.  I’d shop there.

As my wheel spun, I turned this:

into this:

into this:

 Purdy, ain’t she?  Ashley from Neauveau Fiber Arts carded and dyed this roving and had described it as a moldy highlighter.  I had to admit that this fiber is the same colors from my wedding so I knew this fiber came out of that kettle with my name on it and needed to come home!

I’m still very much a newbie spinner but I’m proud of my creation.  And while I’m in the admitting mood, I have to confess that I’m no stranger to obnoxiously yellow things.  I once visited my brother in the hospital wearing my favorite cardigan.  As I walked into his room he covered his eyes with his arm and said, ‘Ugh.  You need to turn that sweater off.’  I still laugh when I think of that.

Now it’s kind of like my cardigan has a little yarn baby:

To continue with my confessions:  I’m also no stranger to obnoxious sweaters in general.

Isn’t that thing simultaneously awful and wonderful?  (I swear, if I get ANY Ugly Betty comments… I’ll probably do nothing but laugh…)

The Cat Diaries

I’m starting to think that the haughty look cats so naturally posses is a facade.  Cats have this stereotype of being smart, independent animals but you really have to question that stereotype when you catch your cat trying to eat an earring.  I swear I could actually see “OOH!  SHINY”  go through her mind as she dove for it on the bathroom counter.

Just like no one wants to be the mom that has to take her kid to the emergency room because they have a toy dinosaur stuck up their nose, no one wants to be the person that has to take their cat to have dimes and shiny baubles surgically removed from its stomach.

And to further my hypotheses that it’s merely a facade:  Can you think of any other animal that still looks haughty while licking their junk?  Seriously.

The Chicken Diaries

They look like double arm amputees when they run.  It would be comical if it weren’t so frightening to see a dozen chickens running at you like a horde of zombies wanting to peck out your brains.

*edited because I’m an idiot that can’t properly proof her own posts before publishing.*

Leave a Reply

