Skip to content

My Knitting Needles Can Kick Your Burned Bra’s Ass!

August 18, 2011

I may be wearing ruby red lipstick, shimmery eyeshadow, pretty jewelry, and a ruffled collar, but my knitting needles can still kick your burned bra’s ass, Peg Aloi! 

Your article Tough Gals:  Do They Still Exist is the quintessential epitome of everything that the suffragists fought AGAINSTDid you know that Elizabeth Cady Stanton (one of the foremost and famous suffragists, in case you didn’t know…) did all of her work behind the scenes because she was busy baking cupcakes and raising babies?!

What they were fighting for was FREEDOM.  Freedom of choice, and speech.  The right to have custody of our own children.  The right to not be property of nor beholden to any man.  The right to do and talk freely about any subject of choice, like, I don’t know… baking cupcakes, knitting, sewing, burning bras, ass-kicking – red f%$#ing lipstick – or any other thing we want.

And above all:

THEY FOUGHT AGAINST OPPRESSION!

You know, the same thing you’re trying to do… oppress women into your hairy-armpitted, sans make up feminist stereotype.

We don’t have to run around with steel toed boots, mullets and Marlboro packs rolled up in our dirty t-shirt sleeves, exposing a skull and cross bones tattoo over a heart that says, “MOM” to represent our bad-assed womanly heritage.  (But if that’s the way you roll, then honey you rock it like Guns ‘n Roses!)

I’M SPENDING MY HARD-WON AND MUCH APPRECIATED BAD-ASSERY KNITTING, SEWING, AND BAKING.

I am a wife and mother that works full-time, drives 114 miles at minimum each day.  I am a budding knit-wear designer, spinner, president of the staff association at work, on the church council, reader, writer, and many other things.  And all of these may seem girly or sissy to you, but I kind of think it’s pretty bad ass, if I do say so myself.

If you want to go burn your bra and belittle the rest of your gender, that’s fine but know that the rest of us think you’re an idiot.

And if and when our economy crashes, I’ll still be able to provide for my family because I know how to cook, sew, knit, spin, etc.  What will you do?  Go around kicking our asses and stealing our cupcakes and scarves to survive?

I’d like to imagine that if Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Alice Paul were alive, they’d be busy giving me fist bumps right now and then we’d all sit around the hearth knitting lace and baking cupcakes.

 

*And no, I didn’t have to Google their names because I am a big, big fan of the suffragists that made my freedom possible.

 

Edited to add a snarky comment:  Perhaps she spends too much time sitting on her ass watching movies and forming opinions on the female gender based on fictional people in improbable situations.  Maybe we should cut her some slack…

Nah.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. VintageDM permalink*
    August 18, 2011 9:46 pm

    I wanted to share a comment from someone on Facebook regarding the quoted article:

    Misty said: “I am with you on this I run a farm ,garden, and spin and knit I can sew but hate it . I and My sisters can do everythig we need to on the farm . but arent to small to say we need help . we can change the oil change a tire on our car’s/pickup if we need to and I can gerry rig a gas peddal in a pinch this is freedom . we also dress up and be ladies ~ this is freedom ~”

    And THAT, my friends – is true bad-assery.

  2. VintageDM permalink*
    August 18, 2011 9:47 pm

    And Gail said:

    “She clearly doesn’t get it. The fight was for the freedom to be who we chose. I have a couple of degrees. I have a career and make good money. I am a wife and a mother. I bake, cook, can, sew, knit, spin, garden, make repairs around the house, handle my investments. I say thank you to all the women who came before me. I consider myself multi-talented. To me the term “bad-ass” is really negative.”

  3. VintageDM permalink*
    August 18, 2011 9:48 pm

    Ina said:

    “It’s people with opinions like that, that perpetuate the idea. Nice how in order to be equal to a man you have to do mannish things. I know men who knit and crochet as well as bake and do all the domestic things she’s looking down on women for. Why do we need to put it into “masculine roles” and “feminine roles” Being able to do either, isn’t that what equality’s about?”

  4. VintageDM permalink*
    August 18, 2011 9:50 pm

    Maegan said:

    “What an idiot. I don’t usually call people names or get too upset, but this is stupid. This girl must live in a really small bubble if she thinks we are all so wimpy! I shear alpacas, and then go home and spin & knit in my pj’s..while enjoying home made cupcakes.”

  5. VintageDM permalink*
    August 18, 2011 10:05 pm

    Samantha said:

    “One of my favorite quotes from the [article] comments:

    “Multi-task­ing:

    The art of busting balls while looking fabulous and speaking as though you’re quoting poetry when you are really telling someone exactly where to get off.”

    I seriously want to know where that author gets off acting like family, cooking, and crafts are “beneath” women. If you aren’t the woman choosing to stay at home with your family, and cook them meals, and sew them clothes – then you are going to be PAYING SOMEONE ELSE to do those things. And to imply that those things aren’t “good” enough for a woman to do, you are also implying that you are somehow better than woman that does do them.

    True strength is being able to appreciate what makes you a woman, and feel comfortable and confident enough to do what makes you happy. And if that means getting an engineering degree and then choosing to be at home and teaching your kids how to bake, sew, and knit – then you should be proud!”

  6. August 20, 2011 4:34 pm

    Do you know how many people have no clue who Caddy Stanton was? she is my ultimate hero!

  7. Gray permalink
    August 25, 2011 8:33 pm

    Suffragette Eliza Osborn’s response to Knitting.
    “In your skit Against your sisterhood who knit, Or useful make their fingers, I wonder if–deny it not–The habit of Lucretia Mott Within your memory lingers! “In retrospective vision bright, Can you recall dear Martha Wright Without her work or knitting? The needles flying in her hands, On washing rags or baby’s bands, Or other work as fitting? “I cannot think they thought the less, Or ceased the company to bless With conversation’s riches,
    Because they thus improved their time, And never deemed it was a crime To fill the hours with stitches. “They even used to preach and plan To spread the fashion, so that man
    Might have this satisfaction; Instead of idling as men do, With nervous meddling fingers too, Why not mate talk with action? “But as a daughter and a niece, I pride myself on every piece Of handiwork created; While reveling in social chat, Or listening to gossip flat,
    My gain is unabated. “That German emperor you scorn, Seems to my mind a monarch born, Worthy to lead a column; I’ll warrant he could talk and work, And, neither being used to shirk, Was rarely very solemn. “I could say more upon this head, But must, before I go to bed, Your idle precepts mocking, Get out my needle and my yarn And, caring not a single darn, Just finish up this stocking.”

Leave a Reply

